Ready For The Rapids

Our Favorite Little Spot

Is there a place you go that holds special memories? A place that when you visit, you feel something running through your veins? A place where happiness has made it's way from mere memory to your present emotion? 

So, my husband and I are Water-bugs, (I more so than he, I think). We used to kick it at the river as teenagers, even before we met.  We made a habit of going together after we met in August of 2002. We went every year, rain or shine. No matter the season, that was OUR little spot. For nine years we made memories playing and laughing growing into adulthood together. Yesterday me and my husband decided to finally introduce our two little ones (Charlotte and Israel)  to OUR  favorite little spot! We have taken them to other little spots around the area but have been reluctant to take them to one particular area simply because we were nervous of their safety. Yesterday we decided we would try it and see if they were ready. 

The walk down was as green as I had ever seen and it made me very happy.

The rocky trail I knew so well was unchanged, like not even a pebble had moved since we were last there. Lots has happened and so much in our own lives have changed since we used to play in these waters. Kids, marriage, coming to know the Lord, habits we have dropped, habits we have picked up... and so forth. 

 

 

We reached our spot after teaching my babies how to best navigate the rocks on the walk down. Ahhh... there we were. It almost felt like I breathed more clearly by this water. The kiddos didn't waste anytime breaking out the buckets and becoming familiar with the sand. I couldn't wait to feel the cold water on my feet and sand between my toes. I didn't even think to take off my over-clothes until I had gotten waist deep in the most perfect spot in the river. I didn't care. It was nice not to care. 

 

 

The kids paddled around and splashed and carried on.

I was getting chilly so I did what all river rats do when the water starts getting too cold. Completely dunked myself under to force my body into getting over it. "Suck it up, buttercup" and in I went. Over my head and immersed in that icy perfection. It took my breath and it wasn't until I came up out from under the cold rapids  that the overwhelming flood of memories hit me. It felt like I was back in time. there with my husband. I was just waiting for him to grab me and throw me in like he always did. I felt the memory of his hands on my back I jumped in once more to pretend I had been dunked against my will but to be honest, if I could have I would have never came up out of the water. My husband said he didn't realize how much he missed the smell of the water. I didn't realize how much I missed seeing him jump in without a care in the world. We were crazy back then. Too crazy. But I will never forget all those trips hanging by the water all day everyday in the summer and in complete denial when summer was over- taking ghastly dives in, in October. 

 

We had a blast with the kiddos. In-fact as I finish up this blog i will throw on my water sandals and we will it hit it again. What fun memories will we make now that youngins' are with us in OUR favorite little spot?

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Jenny G. (Sunday, 12 June 2016 09:41)

    Love it.. I love reading your blogs.. It sounds like yall had a wonderful time.. Nothing like making memories with the little ones that will last a life time..

  • #2

    Still My Soul Photography (Wednesday, 20 July 2016 20:28)

    Thank you, Jenny! Just seeing your comment. Its been very fun. They grow up too fast! Glad you like them!