A Father's Love

There is something special that a father's love brings to life of a child.  It marks their heart forever and becomes a foundation for future decision making. Every glance, hand held, boo-boo kissed, dance, bike lesson, ball toss, fishing trip, gentle hand, wiped tear, late night,  moment spent teaching, redirection and even, every loving discipline is affirmation of a father's love, a trust built, and a future expectation is created. It is proof and a promise. It is encouragement and an platform in which a child's confidence and life perspective will be formed. Powerful mark it will leave in its presence and a powerful in its absence.       

When my daughter was born, it was her father that named her. He cut the cord, he was one of the first to see her and the first to hold her. When she had colic and couldn't sleep, he had the magic moves to ease her back to dreamland. 

And although she's her mamas girl, most of the time, I find myself slightly envious of their bond. Of the naps they take and the way he can get her to just chill.. I cannot do that. I cannot be the that strength she trusts so much. I cannot show her how to expect her prince to treat her. I cannot give self confidence by dancing with her. I cannot teach her the how the gentle hand of a man should be. I cannot make her spin in circles with a gift boxed dress and rose. I cannot steal her heart by lifting her chin kissing her head. And I cannot affirm her value when a dirtbag has broken her heart. Those are things that are cultivated by a father's love! 

I have a confession to make here, I have never felt any of these amazing things. My biological father chose to opt out of parenthood. I have a deep longing withing me. (even as a grown woman). There was so many things that I needed that I just didn't have. So many things I wasn't equipped with as a wife and mother because of the absence of such a powerful force. A need that just wasn't met.  Please  don't misunderstand me.... there are a lot of fantastic single moms out there who do an amazing job raising kids. My mother was one of those. She was mother and she did her best to be father. she did a jam up job and I have madd respect for this lady, but this isn't about importance of a  mother but of the importance of a father. The absence cast baggage on my husband and load that he shouldn't have to carry.  Fathers have superpowers, I am sure of it.

 

My husband is the best father I know. The way my daughter looks at him makes me fall to pieces. Do you know what a blessing it is that my sweet girl knows this love. I am blown away watching the way they interact. The way he can teach her and she hang on every word. The way he can make her heart flutter with his smile. If there is anyone who could steal him away from me it would be her. And to my son, he is a teacher. A student of the mastery of everything "BOY". My son studies him deeply and mimics his superman. 

To all you fathers out there, the role that God gave you in your child's life is greater than you can know. There is power in your words, your body language and in your eyes. I pray that God leads you daily in such a great responsibility. I thank you for what you are doing for the future fathers and mothers of the world. Keep going and be enduring. The fruit of this labor with surely be reaped. For the fathers who haven't always been there: You do not have to make up for lost times. Please understand this. The best thing you can do to mend things is to start from where you are. You cant change the past but you can create a new beginning. You are so very valuable and so is your child. They need all you fathers to do the things that mommies just aren't equipped to do. Again thank you and Happy Father's Day!!!!

To my father: I am not mad. I am no longer bitter. I still feel the pain, and I still don't understand. I pray for you often and I hope one day you will you choose to be apart of our small family. I cannot wait for you to meet my children. They would be a blessing to and you would love them greatly. I do love you despite what you may think. Happy Father's Day!

To my husband ( and in my eyes) the greatest father aside from God Almighty: I cannot express the appreciation I have for you. How you stuck by me with our little surprise babies. How you work tirelessly to take care of us. How you lead us back to ourselves with your words after a bad day. For the numerous laughs you give us on a daily basis. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for being a real father to your sweeties. Thank you for your patience with me. Thank you for always jumping in taking care of things where I have fallen short. Thank for it all. I pray for you everyday. May you be encouraged and blessed in all that you do. Happy Father's Day, my Love.  

To share this blog

Write a comment

Comments: 0