A Dog & Her Boy : Remembering Alley

TWO FRIENDS

Once upon a time, not very long ago and not so far away, lived a faithful dog and her boy. This particular dog was energetic and playful just like her boy. She was loyal and protective, just like her boy. She wore a smile and deeply kind eyes, just like her boy. She loved her boy. She adopted him when he was a pup.... or was it the other way around ?!?! I guess it doesn't really matter. She belonged to him, and he belonged to her. 

Alley & Dale

Ok, let me just say that I have known the boy (Dale) & his dog (Alley) for 5 years. Being close friends with him and his parents we have have grown quite close, to say the least. There has not been many times when I  have seen the two apart. If he was outside, she was by his side. She tried to keep up while he rode his bike. If he climbed a tree she was right there waiting patiently in the shade. If he ventured into the woods for some real boy play, she followed along. She, after-all, was his protector, or was it the other way around? Again, I guess it doesn't really matter. They looked after each other and kept each other company. He took care of her and she took care of him. An 8 year friendship: from a boy and his puppy to young adult and his companion! 

The Great Loss

Sweet Alley's passing was a huge shock to all. This expectant mother seemed to be healthy and we were all surprised and excited about her pregnancy. She went into labor and everyone started preparing to meet her new babies. Alley was a trooper  from what I understand about the whole thing. But she needed help delivering her little ones. After the Vet delivered her pups, Mama didn't wake up.  When I got the news it broke my heart. For her, for her babies and for her boy, most of all. She was a very important piece of her boy's heart and is greatly missed. 

The Gift She Left Behind

Living memories of Alley can be found in the care of her boy. When Alley left, she didn't go out without leaving some herself. She left a whole lot of love and joy for her boy! These three are something special. I got the pleasure of looking after these little fur balls Yesterday. The first to come was this little black carbon copy of mama! The little fighter of the three! They call Him Genesis because he came before the rest. Bella is the chubby tan beauty. I think she likes to sleep more than the others, if that is possible for newborns. I love her nose!!! But the one who the boy adores is a beefy little mud ball they call " BOSS"! Just spend a few moments with this guy and you will know how he got his name. He is big, he is tough and anything he does, he does it "like a BOSS"! I cannot wait to watch these pups grow. And to see how such a great loss turned into a great bond between "Boss" and his boy!  

Bella

Boss

Genesis

A Letter To Her Boy

Dale,

I cannot tell you how saddened I was at the news of Ms. Alley. I hate it! It is a great pain to loose such a friend. But, I wanted you to know How proud I am of you! You jumped right in there. though you were torn apart, you made sure they little ones did not suffer. I am proud of you for the long hours, late night feedings, and all the hard work you sacrificed to care for these little ones. You do everything sweet Alley would have done, could she have been here. I know that you miss your girl dearly and always will but I am so excited to see you and boss grow together. I cannot wait to see him running and dottling behind you trying to keep up. I cannot wait to see you share life with your new little sidekick! You are doing great by these pups. keep it up! I love you, Sir! 

 

 


Personal Memories

So, although me and Alley weren't as close as her and her boy, I found her one of the most loving dogs. We didn't have a close bond or anything special, really. But she had a sense of humor about her that I loved. I had mentioned before she seemed to wear a smile. and she did. It was almost human smile when her tail was wagging She loved popsicles! yup, popsicles. when my daughters was young she swiped a few licks of the frozen treat and often followed her about hoping she would drop a bite or two. She was an outside gal, most of time, but would precisely calculate the seconds and best angle in which the door was opened to make a beeline inside. straight the back of the house she would go hoping to hide unnoticed in her boy's room. "Out, Alley!". Everyone would scramble to catch her and get back outside. But there were a few times the boy hid her in his room to chill and watch t.v. together on the bed. (Sorry, Mom). Once, she stole a hotdog straight off my daughters plate. My daughter wasn't happy but there was Alley with that smile and hotdog breathe. Happy as can be. It was a drive by double- dogging. (See what I did there?) But I think I liked her the most when she went absolutely ham on the delivery guy. I mean this is one of the sweetest dogs I have known. but for whatever reason, she was in beast-mode....... Hilarious!  We will miss you sweet girl! 

Subscribe to my blog

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Angie Chatham (Friday, 01 July 2016 01:03)

    How sweet! ...this blog brought so many tears to my eyes! Thank you my sweet friend!